Victoria Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Victoria East High School FFA Members Attend Texas FFA Convention

Members from the Victoria East FFA chapter attended the 89th annual Texas FFA State Convention held July 10-14 in Corpus Christi.


Victoria East FFA members who attended the convention are: Angelica Marie Campos, Tanner Cano, Elizabeth Creager, Matt Gomez, Mallory Hewitt, Tyler Johnson, Blaine Koopman, Kagan Migl, Bailey Raab, Zach Ramirez, and David Schroeder.


More than $2 million in scholarships were awarded to FFA members and more than 2,400 members received the Lone Star FFA Degree, the highest degree of active membership bestowed by a state FFA association. More than 2,000 members were recognized on stage for their accomplishments. Members also competed for state titles in public speaking and agriscience events.


Members heard from keynote speaker Keni Thomas during the first general session. Texas country music artist Aaron Watson also performed exclusively for FFA members. Members watched as well as competed in the 16th annual Texas FFA Rodeo.


The 89th annual Texas FFA Convention recorded approximately 12,000 members and guests. Members of the state’s largest agricultural youth leadership organization spent the week attending leadership workshops, participating in events and activities, being recognized for their achievements, and serving as the legislative body for the Texas FFA Association.


The Texas FFA is the nation’s largest state FFA association with a membership of more than 119,000. FFA gives students the opportunity to apply practical classroom knowledge to real world experiences through local, state and national competitions. For more information about the Texas FFA, visit


Pictured members of Victoria East High School FFA at the convention: (standing) Elizabeth Creager, Zach Ramirez, Matt Gomez, Mallory Hewitt, Kagan Migl, Bailey Raab, Marie Campos, and Tanner Cano. Seated in front: Blaine Koopman, Tyler Johnson, and David Shroeder.

Published Print